School of the Arts - Courses - ASC2018 - Music Theory 101

Music theory is an exciting language that will be introduced to students. It is a complement to instrument performance and will help cultivate a greater appreciation of music at all levels. Classes will cover: rhythm, harmony and melody, form, and texture. Students will be provided with theory worksheets and fun games to practice their new language.

This is a class for students in Grades 5-8.

Pricing Information
Starting at $120 for the Fall Term, sign up for Fall and Winter Terms together (by no later than October 15th 2018) and get a discount!

Fall Term: $120.00 (8 weeks of classes)
Winter Term: $240.00 (16 weeks of classes)
Winter Term Discount: $200.00 (16 weeks of classes)

**Inquire about our discounts for siblings and multiple classes!**

**Please note that there will be no class Saturday May 18th for Victoria Day Weekend**

Important Dates
Fall Term START Date: September 15th 2018

Fall Term END Date: November 3rd 2018

GSOTA FALL GALA: November 9th 2018

Winter Term START Date: February 2nd 2019

Winter Term END Date: May 25th 2019

GSOTA YEAR-END GALA: May 31st 2019

GSOTA FALL GALA 2018
All students participating in this class will be able to attend a certificate ceremony and see other students showcasing their work at our GSOTA FALL GALA on Thursday November 8th 2018 from 5:00pm-7:00pm. Fall Term students will present their work (or in the case of Music Theory students, receive their Term 1 Certification), in an exciting GALA that will utilize multiple areas of our beautiful Gibson Centre. Details for the students' performance expectations and times will be sent home in a confirmation document at the beginning of the course.

GSOTA YEAR-END GALA 2019
All students participating in the full year class will be able to attend a certificate ceremony and see other students showcasing their work at our GSOTA YEAR-END GALA on Thursday May 30th from 5:00pm-7:00pm. Students will present their work (or in the case of Music Theory students, receive their Year-End Certification), in an exciting GALA that will utilize multiple areas of our beautiful Gibson Centre. Details for the students' performance expectations and times will be sent home at the half-way mark of the Winter Term.

Price

Music Theory 101 (Fall Term): $120.00 CAD
Music Theory 101 (Winter Term): $240.00 CAD

Class Dates

Saturday Sep 15, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Sep 22, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Sep 29, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Oct 6, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Oct 13, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Oct 20, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Oct 27, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Nov 3, 2018 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Feb 2, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Feb 9, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Feb 16, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Feb 23, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Mar 2, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Mar 9, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Mar 16, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Mar 23, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Tuesday Apr 2, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Apr 6, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Apr 13, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Apr 20, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday Apr 27, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday May 4, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday May 11, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM
Saturday May 25, 2019 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM

Instructor

Matthew Rait
Matthew Rait

Matthew Rait

Guitar, Piano and Music Theory Instructor

... more