School of the Arts - Courses - ASC2018 - Group Guitar (Grades 5-8)

Learning and playing the guitar offers a wonderful opportunity to develop the mind, find personal expression and interact with others in the enjoyment of music. Classes will introduce students to exciting and stimulating songs using common chords, fingerstyle and strumming techniques, and note reading. As part of the learning process, students will have the opportunity to compose their own patterns and tunes. Students will be encouraged to practice playing at home as much as possible. Practice greatly accelerates learning!

This is a class for students in Grades 5-8.

**Please note that though it is an asset to have a guitar to practice on at home, it is not a requirement of the course. No prior experience with guitar is necessary.**

Pricing Information
Starting at $120 for the Fall Term, sign up for Fall and Winter Terms together (by no later than October 15th 2018) and get a discount!

Fall Term: $120.00 (8 weeks of classes)
Winter Term: $240.00 (16 weeks of classes)
Winter Term Discount: $200.00 (16 weeks of classes)

**Inquire about our discounts for siblings and multiple classes!**

Guitar Rental Fee
If your young musician is trying out the guitar for the very first time, you may want to take advantage of our guitar rental system! For an additional fee of only $25.00 per 8 weeks of class, you can "rent" a guitar for our course. The guitars are not to be taken home, but they will be here for your student every class. This is a great way to allow your young musician to try something new without the cost of buying a guitar.

Something else to keep in mind is guitar size. While your student may fit a half size, or 3/4 size guitar right now, they may grow out of it after a growth spurt. Our rental system allows you to pay minimal fees and avoid having to upgrade to a whole size guitar at full price part way through the year.

**Please note that there will be no class Saturday May 18th, 2018 for Victoria Day weekend.**

Important Dates
Fall Term START Date: September 15th 2018

Fall Term END Date: November 3rd 2018

GSOTA FALL GALA: November 9th 2018

Winter Term START Date: February 2nd 2019

Winter Term END Date: May 25th 2019

GSOTA YEAR-END GALA: May 31st 2019

GSOTA FALL GALA 2018
All students participating in this class will be able to showcase their work at our GSOTA FALL GALA on Friday November 9th 2018 from 5:00pm-7:00pm. All Fall Term students will present their work in an exciting GALA that will utilize multiple areas of our beautiful Gibson Centre. Details for the students' performance expectations and times will be sent home in a confirmation document at the beginning of the course. This event will be FREE for students and parents alike!

GSOTA YEAR-END GALA 2019
All students participating in the full year class will be able to showcase their work at our GSOTA YEAR-END GALA on Friday May 31st from 5:00pm-7:00pm. All students will present their work in a Formal GALA that will utilize the main floor of our beautiful Gibson Centre. Semi-Formal attire and attention to detail will elevate this year-end presentation from our students! Details for the students' performance expectations, times and ticket sales will be sent home at the half-way mark of the Winter Term.

Price

Group Guitar (Fall Term): $120.00 CAD
Group Guitar (Winter Term): $240.00 CAD

Class Dates

Saturday Sep 15, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Sep 22, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Sep 29, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Oct 6, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Oct 13, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Oct 20, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Oct 27, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Nov 3, 2018 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Feb 2, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Feb 9, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Feb 16, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Feb 23, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Mar 2, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Mar 9, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Mar 16, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Mar 23, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Mar 30, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Apr 6, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Apr 13, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Apr 20, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday Apr 27, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday May 4, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday May 11, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday May 25, 2019 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM

Instructor

Matthew Rait
Matthew Rait

Matthew Rait

Guitar, Piano and Music Theory Instructor

... more